Building custom PCs.

Talk about anything that's not gloves here

Moderators: Jake, mrs uni

Carrie Karkus
Glovely Diva

Building custom PCs.

Post by Carrie Karkus »

One of the biggest reasons I'm not as active as I'd like to be both here and on other sites--and especially with my artwork--is because of my computer.

I've been using a Dell Inspiron laptop for the past 7 years, and it's seen and been through Hell and back. Since February, I've been buying components to build a rig of my own. It's a dream I've had since my early teens and I'm finally making it come true. I've been pretty excited! I've not had the funds to add to my glove collection, unfortunately, but believe me: my hiatus will pay off. I'm even buying a pair of white cotton gloves to handle the motherboard, RAM, processor, and GPU with! :D

I should have my computer running as early as July. These are my components:

-DIYPC Solo-T1-R chassis (Will upgrade to this eventually)
-Raidmax Vampire 700W modular PSU
-Seagate BarraCuda 2TB HDD
-Intel Core i5-6500 Skylake CPU

I still have yet to get my motherboard, RAM, and my GPU. Mobo is coming next month, then the RAM in July. Then in August I'm finishing it off with the GPU, and my flatscreen will be my monitor. It's been a huge learning experience in more ways than one.

How many of you have built your own custom rigs? Have you paid someone to build your own custom PC? And do you think that I've got a good first-time build? I'd LOVE feedback on the last question. :)
violet666
Regular poster

Re: Building custom PCs.

Post by violet666 »

Add non -ferential cooling to the processor and SSD to the system, better HDD to Tischiba or WD.
chanelbleu
Regular poster

Post by chanelbleu »

I do have quite a bit of experience with building custom rigs and I'd be happy to share some of my views. :)